Home Construction Visual Guide 3:
Door Hardware

Hover mouse over each each image for a fuller description.


ANSI Grading System
BHMA (Builders Hardware Manufacturers Association) is accredited by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI), a private non-profit organization that administers and coordinates the voluntary standardization to develop and maintain performance standards for builder's hardware. ANSI/BHMA standards set forth different product grades for door hardware products. These product grades are defined by progressive levels of performance benchmarks in each applicable standard. The purpose of each is to help identify the quality and durability of locksets through a series of operational and security tests.

What value does this bring to the consumer?
The process of certifying products is strictly voluntary -- a responsible lock manufacturer should bear a certain responsibility to let consumers know what type of product they are purchasing. Here are the standards set by ANSI.


ANSI/BHMA A156.XX designation of Standards for Door Hardware
Deadbolts are covered by standard: A156.5
Locks and Handlesets: A156.2
Interconnected: A156.12
Finishes: A156.18

Each grade specifies minimum acceptable requirements for:

Operation i.e.: key torque; cycles
Security i.e.: pull strength, impact resistance

Top of Page Prev: Home Construction Visual Guide 2 Next related page, article or category

Home Construction Visual Guide 4


Last modified: Thursday, 2007-06-14 22:57 PST

MORTISE LOCK, cylinder, stator, key, rotor, spring, cotter pin, cylinder case keyway, dead bolt ring, faceplate, strike plate TUBULAR LOCK
- - outside knob
latch bolt
inside knob